Employing the wisdom of the crowds
Client
KIT

K.I.T. and Intuity teamed to do research on the question how to generate better prognoses on economic indicators using the “wisdom of the crowds”. The team was led by Dr. Christof Weinhardt at the Institute of Technology (KIT) in Karlsruhe, Germany, and the Institute of Information Systems and Management. The German Handelsblatt newspaper and the Institute of German Economics in Cologne (IW) also took part in this research project.

The saying goes “Predictions are difficult, especially about the future”. This was particularly true for the 2008 crisis when a number of banks experienced great difficulties, resulting in drastic reactions at stock markets around the word. Usually, expert prognoses are based on the knowledge of predictable events and are mostly accurate within the predictable world realm. But how can economic predictions quickly adapt to unforeseeable events, when the process of collecting data, analysis and evaluation can’t keep up with the changing economic situation? According to economic experts, ‘wisdom of the crowds’ may offer the answer to generating faster and more accurate economic indicators in the future. We were asked to find a playful interactive solution to motivate a large number of people to trade virtual economic indices in a simulated, yet realistic market environment. The supply and demand of virtual shares would feed collective expectations towards the economic market situation, consequently allowing predictions to be made.

The EIX Economic Indicators eXchange looks and feels like a trading platform. Participants can speculate, buy and sell, whilst tables of exchange and news tickers facilitate decision-making. Contrary to a common stock exchange, no stocks and shares are at stake here. Instead, participants trade virtual economic indices such as the labour market, GDP, export, inflation and gross fixed capital formation. It all sounds rather abstract – and it is. This is why we were challenged to design the user-friendly access to the economic indicator exchange with a simple user platform.

The Handelsblatt Economic Indicators eXchange is open to everyone. Simple tutorials and a clear demonstration of the market situation help participants to get started. Although there is no actual money to be earned, regular and successful ‘traders’ can win a cash prize worth up to 37,000 Euros. Intuity developed the Economic Indicators eXchange in conjunction with the Institute of German Economics in Cologne (IW), the Institute of Technology (KIT) in Karlsruhe, Germany, and the Institute of Information Systems and Management (FZI).

FZI Forschungszentrum on Economic Indicators eXchange

Handelsblatt on Economic Indicators eXchange

Case Studies

Wie man die Weisheit der Massen nutzt
Kunde
KIT

Wie nutzt man das Wissen der Masse (Wisdom of the Crowds) um bessere Wirtschaftsprognosen zu treffen?

Gemeinsam mit dem Team um Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt am Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik entwickelten wir ein Konzept für die Handelsblatt Prognosebörse. Weitere Partner waren das Handelsblatt und das Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft Köln (IW).

Prognosen sind schwierig, besonders wenn sie die Zukunft betreffen. Dieses Karl Valentin zugeschriebene Zitat galt besonders für Wirtschafts- und Konjunkturprognosen im Sommer und Herbst 2008, als Schwierigkeiten einzelner Banken schnelle und drastische Reaktionen in den Märkten auslösten. Expertenprognosen, die nach bestem Wissen auf der Basis von höchstwahrscheinlich eintretenden Ereignissen erstellt werden, sind innerhalb dieser vermeintlich vorhersehbaren Welt meist zutreffend. Wie können Wirtschaftsprognosen jedoch schnell an unerwartete Ereignisse angepasst werden? Wirtschaftsexperten bauen für schnellere und präzisere Prognosen zukünftig auch auf die Intelligenz der Masse. In diesem Zusammenhang war es unsere Aufgabe, durch einen spielerischen Ansatz möglichst viele Interessierte in einer marktnahen Simulation zum Handel mit virtuellen Wirtschaftsindizes zu motivieren. Im virtuellen Markt repräsentieren Angebot und Nachfrage die kollekive Erwartungshaltung an die Entwicklung des Wirtschaftsklimas und lassen so realistische Prognosen zu.

Die EIX Prognosebörse erinnert an eine marktübliche Tradingplattform. Es wird spekuliert, gekauft und verkauft. Kurstabellen und Newsticker helfen dem Spekulanten bei seiner Entscheidung für eine Transaktion. Der einzige Unterschied zum normalen Brokerage: Es geht nicht um Aktien und Devisen, sondern um den Handel mit virtuellen Konjunkturindikatoren: Arbeitsmarkt, Bruttoinlandsprodukt, Export, Inflation und Bruttoanlageinvestitionen. Klingt abstrakt – und das ist es auch. Die besondere Herausforderung war deshalb, den Einstieg in die Prognosebörse und die Nutzung der Plattform so einfach wie möglich zu gestalten.

Jeder kann über die Handelsblatt-Prognosebörse an unserem Experiment teilnehmen. Einfache Tutorials und die übersichtliche Darstellung der Marktsimulation helfen beim Einstieg. An der Handelsblatt-Prognosebörse können die Teilnehmer zwar kein echtes Geld verdienen, aber wer viel und treffsicher handelt, kann Preise im Gesamtwert von über 37.000 Euro gewinnen. An der Handelsblatt-Prognosebörse beteiligen sich neben der Wirtschafts- und Finanzzeitung Handelsblatt auch das Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft Köln (IW), das Institut für Informationswirtschaft und -management (IISM) des Karlsruher Instituts of Technology (KIT) sowie das Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI).

FZI Forschungszentrum über die Prognosebörse

Handelsblatt über die Prognosebörse

Case Studies