Next Logistics – Scenario
Client

Autonomous and networked vehicles and robots have long been in use: In distribution and sorting centers, container ports or warehouses, goods find their way autonomously. Doesn’t it therefore make sense for logistics to rely on autonomous vehicles and robots in public spaces in the future? And isn’t it just as natural to take the next logical step to intelligent networking of all transport options?

The possibilities of IoT and IoS combined with autonomous transport devices will not only automate more but also individualize logistics. The NEXT LOGISTICS scenario impresses with its efficiency and perfect adaptation to the needs of both the sender and recipient.

Thinking of the future of logistics

We consider the future from the perspective of the user as well as the operator of a business system and design pioneering future scenarios: What is possible in the future? How can an existing system be optimized while being expanded with a new value proposition?

In the future: There is hardly a place on earth anymore that is not accessible to technical transport devices. Autonomous trucks, mobile packing stations, robots, flying robots or terrain caterpillars transport goods quickly and reliably even to remote regions, up high staircases or from the mainland to an island. The decisive point however is: The innovative vehicles can coordinate with each other in a split second, recognize the more suitable “colleague” for the respective transport requirement, and automatically implement any special wishes the sender and recipient may have.
This makes both new logistics systems and new transport vehicles conceivable. A whole new world of logistics is emerging: NEXT LOGISTICS.

Determine the destination and leave the rest to technology

Trucks drive autonomously into the destination area and transfer the package to a mobile or stationary packing station; mobile packing stations and robots deliver the parcel to almost any location and communicate this to the recipient.

Or: While autonomous logistics vehicles are driving through residential areas, they are unloaded by mini-vehicles, robots or mobile packing stations, which in turn deliver the packages to the appropriate package boxes at the destination or to the recipient.

Or: The transport potential of the empty trunks of intelligent cars is utilized by having the cars report their destination and available space to the intelligent logistics system before starting off an already planned journey (space sharing). This, for example, allows for the virtually CO2 neutral transportation of packages, or for travelers to travel by train without taking their
luggage along.
Trunks however offer more than just untapped transport potential. They can also serve as a place to store packages in parked cars: Mobile packing stations and robots can unlock the trunk by code, a gripping arm places the consignment inside, and the trunk is closed again.

The totality alone is the truth

NEXT LOGISTICS impresses with efficiency, flexibility and adaptivity. Intelligently networked, new transport vehicles and robots find the fastest, cheapest and most climate-compatible route for the goods. In other words: The package finds the way on its own, according to the requirements of the sender and recipient. This means, among other things: lower costs, considerably less empty runs, no untraceable packages, less congestion, less warehouses and more convenience.
Against the background of increasingly stringent requirements with respect to the CO2 emissions, the path leads towards NEXT LOGISTICS. Only the intelligent networking of autonomous, new and already existing means of transport can bring about a relevant reduction of CO2.

Read more: NEXT LOGISTIC – Autonomous logistics systems

Case Studies

Next Logistics – Szenario
Kunde

Autonome und miteinander vernetzte Fahrzeuge und Roboter sind längst im Einsatz: In Distributions- und Sortierzentren, in Containerhäfen oder Lagerhallen suchen sich Waren selbstständig ihren Weg. Liegt es da nicht nahe, in der Logistik künftig auf autonome Fahrzeuge und Roboter im öffentlichen Raum zu setzen? Und ist es nicht ein ebenso naheliegender Schritt zur intelligenten Vernetzung sämtlicher Transportmöglichkeiten?

Die Möglichkeiten von IoT und IoS in Verbindung mit autonomen Transportgeräten, werden die Logistik nicht nur weiter automatisieren, sondern auch individualisieren. Das Szenario NEXT LOGISTICS besticht durch Effizienz und perfekte Anpassung an die Bedürfnisse des Absenders und Empfängers.

Logistik weiter denken

Wir denken die Zukunft aus der Perspektive des Nutzers sowie der Betreiber eines Geschäftsystems und entwerfen dazu wegweisende Zukunftsszenarien: Was ist künftig möglich? Wie kann ein bestehendes System optimiert und zusätzlich mit einem neuartigen Wertversprechen erweitert werden?

In der Zukunft: Es gibt mittlerweile keinen Fleck auf der Erde, der nicht für technische Transportgeräte zugänglich ist. Autonome LKWs, mobile Packstationen, Roboter, Flugroboter oder Geländeraupen transportieren Waren zuverlässig und schnell auch in entlegene Regionen, hohe Treppenhäuser hinauf oder vom Land auf die Insel. Doch entscheidend ist: Die innovativen Fahrzeuge können sich in Bruchteilen von Sekunden untereinander abstimmen, den besser geeigneten „Kollegen“ für die jeweilige Transportanforderung erkennen sowie spezielle Wünsche des Absenders und Empfängers vollautomatisch umsetzen.
So werden sowohl neue Logistiksysteme als auch neue Transportfahrzeuge denkbar. Eine neue Logistikwelt ist im Entstehen: NEXT LOGISTICS.

Das Ziel bestimmen, den Rest macht die Technik

LKWs fahren autonom in das Zielgebiet und übergeben dort das Paket an eine mobile oder stationäre Packstation; mobile Packstationen bringen das Paket an nahezu jeden beliebigen Ort und kommunizieren dabei mit dem Empfänger.

Oder: Autonome Logistikfahrzeuge bewegen sich durch Wohngebiete und werden während der Fahrt von Kleinstfahrzeugen, Robotern oder mobilen Packstationen entladen, welche die Pakete in die entsprechenden Paketboxen am Zielort oder direkt zum Empfänger bringen.

Oder: Das Transportpotenzial leerer Kofferräume von intelligenten autonomen Automobilen wird nutzbar gemacht, indem diese vor Beginn einer ohnehin anfallenden Fahrt ihr Ziel und den zur Verfügung stehenden Platz an das intelligente Logistiksystem melden (Spacesharing). So werden beispielsweise Pakete nahezu CO2-neutral transportiert, oder Reisende können gepäckbefreit mit der Bahn fahren.
In Kofferräumen steckt aber nicht nur ungenutztes Transportpotenzial. Sie können bei parkenden Autos auch als Paketablageplatz dienen: Mobile Packstationen oder Roboter können den Kofferraum per Code entriegeln, ein Greifarm setzt die Sendung hinein und anschließend wird der Kofferraum wieder verschlossen.

Nur das Ganze ist das Wahre

NEXT LOGISTICS zeichnet sich durch Effizienz, Flexibilität und Adaptivität aus. Intelligent vernetzt, finden neue Transportmobile und Roboter den jeweils schnellsten, günstigsten und klimaverträglichsten Weg für die Waren. Mit anderen Worten: Das Paket sucht sich seinen Weg selbst, anhand der Vorgaben des Senders und Empfängers. Das heißt unter anderem: geringere Kosten, deutlich weniger Leerfahrten, keine unauffindbaren Pakete, weniger Staus und mehr Komfort für den Sender und Empfänger.
Auch vor dem Hintergrund immer strengerer Vorgaben bezüglich der CO2-Emissionen führt der Weg in Richtung NEXT LOGISTICS. Denn nur durch die intelligente Vernetzung autonomer, neuer und bereits vorhandener Transportmittel kann es zu einer relevanten CO2-Reduktion kommen.

Mehr zu NEXT LOGISTICS: Autonome Logistik-Systeme

Case Studies