PARKPARK: Build your own city!
Client

The idea of getting the immediate urban environment to match the specific requirements of the population must be as old as the very notion of the city itself. As more and more regulations come into force to protect the cityscape and local residents, we see fewer and fewer examples of spontaneous intervention in public spaces.

Parklets trace their origin back to a citizens’ movement seeking to counter this trend and hoping to reestablish the needs of the citizens as a factor in the design of the cityscape. Expanding walkways into parking zones helps not only to create a better quality of life in densely populated cities but also opens up potential uses that people never knew existed before. Parklets can therefore be a key element in modern city planning, helping to meet the constantly changing needs of the urban environment in a cost-effective manner and with very little effort.
 
Intuity has developed a modular parklet system in PARKPARK that fits effortlessly into any parking spot, can be assembled and dismantled quickly and is entirely customizable. The core element consists of wooden platforms the size of a parking space. No underground engineering is required and the platforms can be set up at the side of a road, in parking lots – and virtually anywhere else. Modules can be freely combined with one another on top of these basic elements for specific usages. Seating areas, green spaces, bicycle parking stands, EV charging stations, and lots more – all achievable within a very short space of time.
 

Even those urban nooks and crannies that seem hopelessly blocked can be significantly enhanced with PARKPARK. Street car tracks and high volumes of traffic use up every inch of the street, often drastically limiting the space left for pedestrians and cyclists. What follows are narrow pathways along main streets and intricate underpass systems. PARKPARK puts urban living space on a new footing. Bridges made from sustainable wood turn pathways into attractive viewing platforms that let clouds of exhaust fumes simply pass below them.
 
PARKPARK encourages sustainable mobility concepts. The flexible parklets allow mobility stations to be created on which a wide range of vehicles can be parked. This makes switching from one type of vehicle to another a great deal easier. Bicycles, for example, can be parked right alongside EV charging stations. Different mobility systems can be networked together via a unitary booking platform. This allows everyone to see at a glance which means of transportation are available at any given moment and to get to the transportation option they want with just a few clicks of the mouse.
 
PARKPARK facilitates the intelligent interim use of urban living space. It is people-focused, provides an opportunity for people to meet and interact, and improves a city’s mobile infrastructure.

In addition to carrying out research into flexible usage concepts for urban spaces, we also examined the possibilities presented by fully automated CAD/CAM production from wood. Most of the models are constructed in parametric form, allowing customized products to be manufactured at relatively low unit cost.

PARKPARK is a joint initiative by Intuity and transportation expert Martin Randelhoff

Read more about PARKPARK: Attractive urban space.

Case Studies

PARKPARK: Bau dir deine Stadt!
Kunde

Die Idee, das direkte urbane Umfeld an die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Anwohner anzupassen, ist vermutlich so alt wie die Idee der Stadt selbst. Durch zunehmende Regularien zum Schutz des Stadtbildes und der Bürger, sind spontane Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum selten geworden.

Parklets entstammen einer Bürgerbewegung, die sich diesem Trend entgegenstellt und die Bedürfnisse der Bewohner wieder in das Stadtbild einfließen lassen möchte. Denn die Erweiterungen der Gehwege in Parkzonen hinein schaffen in engen Großstädten nicht nur eine höhere Lebensqualität, sondern auch bislang ungekannte Nutzungsmöglichkeiten. Das Parklet wird damit zu einem zentralen Element der modernen Stadtplanung, um kostengünstig und mit geringem Aufwand die ständig wechselnden urbanen Anforderungen erfüllen zu können.

Mit PARKPARK hat Intuity ein modulares Parklet-System entwickelt, dass sich problemlos in jede Parklücke einpassen lässt, schnell auf- und abgebaut werden kann und individuell gestaltbar ist. Zentrales Element sind aus Holz gefertigte Plattformen von der Größe eines Parkplatzes. Diese können ohne Tiefbaumaßnahmen am Straßenrand, auf Parkplätzen und an nahezu jedem anderen Ort aufgestellt werden. Auf diesen Grundelementen lassen sich Module zur konkreten Nutzung frei kombinieren: Sitzgelegenheiten, Grünflächen, Fahrradabstellplätze, elektrische Ladestationen u.v.m. Alles ist innerhalb kürzester Zeit realisierbar.

Besonders jene urbanen Ecken, die ausweglos verbaut scheinen, können mit PARKPARK erheblich aufgewertet werden. Durch Schienenverkehr und hohes Verkehrsaufkommen maximal ausgereizte Straßen schränken den Raum für Passanten und Radfahrer oft drastisch ein. Enge Gehwege an Hauptstraßen und umständliche Untertunnelungen sind die Folge. PARKPARK setzt urbanen Lebensraum auf eine neue Ebene: Mit Brücken aus nachhaltigen Holzkonstruktionen werden Gehwege zu attraktiven Aussichtspfaden, die Abgaswolken einfach unter sich lassen.

PARKPARK fördert nachhaltige Mobilitätskonzepte: Mit den flexiblen Parklets lassen sich Mobilitätsstationen realisieren, auf denen verschiedene Fahrzeuge geparkt werden können. Dies erleichtert den Wechsel zwischen den Fahrzeugen erheblich ­– beispielsweise lassen sich Fahrräder direkt neben Auto-Ladestationen abstellen. Die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Mobilitätssysteme wird dabei über eine einheitliche Buchungsplattform geregelt. So sieht jeder auf einen Blick, welche Fortbewegungsmittel gerade zur Verfügung stehen und gelangt mit wenigen Klicks zu dem gewünschten Verkehrsmittel.

PARKPARK ist die intelligente Zwischennutzung urbanen Lebensraums, die den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt stellt, Begegnung und Austausch fördert und die mobile Infrastruktur verbessert.

Über die Erforschung flexibiler Nutzungskonzpte für den urbanen Raum hinaus wurden auch die Möglichkeiten vollautomatisierter CAD/CAM Fertigung aus Holz untersucht. Die Modelle sind daher überwiegend parametrisch erstellt, so dass individualisierte Produkte zu verhältnismäßig geringen Stückkosten hergestellt werden können.

PARKPARK ist eine gemeinsame Initiative von Intuity und dem Verkehrsexperten Martin Randelhoff.

Mehr zu PARKPARK: Attraktiver urbaner Raum.

Case Studies