It is up to us to create smarter cities and appealing mobility services

Most people on the planet live in urban areas, and this trend is accelerating. How do we want to design and build our cities? How do we want to move around in these cities and spend our daily lives? These are some of the most exciting and challenging questions for our future.

The increasing number of people living in cities creates a very high demand for advanced ideas for urban mobility. Every individual having an own car is an outdated pattern and will not work in the long run.
There are many individual mobility services emerging, but they mostly work within their own ecosystem and our cities aren’t flexible enough to integrate them seamlessly.

Mobility Networks

It is apparent for us to create larger networks. All kinds of services need to be merged into a single ecosystem: Mobility combined with digital payment, instant messaging, live routing with integrated real-time traffic data, dynamic fleet management and intelligent guidance systems.

We work on this idea closely with Daimler: moovel finds the best mobility mix for you, from door to door, for your current context. moovel provides an easy interaction design and pleasant user interface design that fits customer needs at it’s best.

Digital urban intelligence

There’s another tendency: our milage-package grows year by year to fulfil our everyday needs. That’s mainly by virtue of better and more convenient infrastructures and transportation services. However, they are still not cognitive. Cognition implicates perception, attention, memorization, insight, learning, anticipation, planning – and much more.

An autonomously driving car is a good example for this: A continuously learning and intelligent digital system behind a fleet of self-driving vehicles will fill out the missing links in a mobility network and flexibly react to constantly changing conditions and even predict mobility demands. In the near future autonomous vehicles will be right in front of us, before we even breathe a wish.

Digital intelligence is the key to this vision – and to create attractive business models. This is no science fiction! The technologies are already available, they are just not distributed to mobility and an urban context yet.

It is up to us to create smarter cities, appealing mobility services and desirable places, which are great to grow up, to learn, to work and to spend our lives at. Let’s tackle it!

Case Studies

Es liegt an uns, smartere Städte und attraktive Mobilitätsdienste zu konzipieren

Die meisten Menschen auf unserem Planeten leben in Städten – Tendenz steigend. Wie wollen wir unsere Städte entwerfen und bauen? Und wie wollen wir uns in diesen Städten bewegen und unser tägliches Leben gestalten? Das sind die Herausforderungen, die sich uns für die Zukunft stellen.

Angesichts der kontinuierlich steigenden Zahl der Stadtbewohner sind neue und frische Ideen für urbane Mobilität gefragt. Jeder mit seinem eigenem Auto, dieses Modell ist schlichtweg veraltet und wird auf Dauer nicht funktionieren.
Es sind viele Mobilitätsservices entstanden, jedoch funktionieren diese meist nur in deren eigenem Ökosystem und sind kaum mit anderen Services vernetzt. Unseren Städten mangelt es an Flexibilität, um diese Services nahtlos zu integrieren.

Mobilitätsnetzwerke

Es bilden sich größere Netzwerke: Alle Arten von Services finden sich in einem Ökosystem wieder. Mobilität ist mit mobiler Bezahlung, Instant Messaging, Navigation und Echtzeit-Verkehrsdaten, dynamischem Flottenmanagement und intelligenten Leitsystemen verknüpft.
Gemeinsam mit Daimler arbeiten wir an dieser Idee: moovel findet für jeden Benutzer den individuell besten Mobilitätsmix von A nach B – von Tür zu Tür und abhängig vom jeweiligen Kontext. moovel bietet ein User Interface und ein Interaction Design, das Spaß macht und leicht zu bedienen ist.

Digitale urbane Intelligenz

Es gibt noch einen Trend: Jedes Jahr legen wir mehr und mehr Kilometer zurück um unser tägliches Leben zu meistern. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass Infrastruktur und Verkehrsmittel schneller und bequemer geworden sind. Welche Möglichkeiten würden sich ergeben, wenn die urbane Infrastruktur kognitive Fähigkeiten besitzen würden? Kognition umfasst die Wahrnehmung, Aufmerksamkeit, Erinnerung, Einsicht, Lernen, Vorhersagen, Planung – und mehr.

Das autonome Auto ist dafür ein gutes Beispiel: Ein intelligentes und lernfähiges digitales System als Fundament für eine Flotte selbstständig fahrender Fahrzeuge kann die Lücken in einem Mobilitätsökosystem schließen und flexibel auf sich ständig ändernde Bedingungen reagieren – und schließlich den Mobilitätsbedarf prognostizieren. Schon bald wird ein autonomes Auto bereits vor uns stehen, bevor wir unseren Mobilitätswunsch überhaupt äußern.

Digitale Intelligenz ist der Schlüssel zu dieser Vision – und zur Realisierung attraktiver Geschäftsmodelle. Das ist keine Science Fiction mehr.

Es liegt an uns intelligentere Städte, attraktive Mobilitätsdienste und Orte zu schaffen an denen wir gerne aufwachsen, lernen, arbeiten und leben.

Case Studies