CELLBRICKS – Leading the 3D revolution in printing human biology
Client

The capacity to print biological matter will fundamentally change laboratory work over the next years – just as personal computers changed office work. Together with Cellbricks we are constructing a 3D-printing system which researchers can use to develop and print biological models and conduct experiments anywhere in the world.

The next dimension: 3D organ printing is here!

The theory is actually quite straight-forward: A blueprint of a liver, some adhesive cell mass, a 3D printer – and the new organ is finished. Actually, years of research and brilliant minds are behind the Cellbricks 3D-printing system: The first challenge, according to Dr. Lutz Kloke, biologist and founder of Cellbricks, consisted in finding an “adhesive” which allows cells not only to stick together, but also in which they will feel entirely comfortable. After the right formula was discovered, they still needed a special 3D printer. Typical models spray drops of cell mass into shape using nozzles – an imprecise procedure, too crude for our requirements. What we needed was a solution that could print the finest structures and vessels.

For Cellbricks, we implement key technologies whose roots are not in biotechnology, but actually in IT, AI and process engineering:

1. 3D tools and generative algorithms for CAD-CAM biology
2. Databases for models (mini-organs, multi-organs…)
4. High-resolution bioprinting technology (Intuity/CellBricks, pat. pending)
5. Essays and chips (CellBricks, pat. tech.)

Markus Turber, managing director of Intuity: “At first, the challenge of developing a 3D-printer system for living organoids was totally crazy and fascinating. The team tinkered with the hardware and software enthusiastically for months. The resulting 3D organ printer is now one-of-a-kind on the market, and its printed results are unbelievably precise.”

Professionalism and design

Intuity has developed a 3D tissue printer for Cellbricks with a particularly high resolution and the capacity to print different types of cells. This makes it possible to produce even the fine vascular structures which are necessary for organs and tissues. With this printer, Cellbricks is capable of printing three-dimensional living tissue which grows through cell division. Some mini-organs can already be cultivated for several months. The highly professional BioPrinter features an intuitive user interface which enables professional tissue printing in just a few steps and makes the process visually tangible.

Worldwide, only a few teams of scientists have solidly-grounded knowledge of printing organs and cell tissues. Cellbricks is one of them: They have patented materials which allow the startup to model dimensionally stable cells without negatively impacting the cells’ metabolic processes: The cells are happy to be printed. They divide and continue to grow according to their biological blueprints.

Cellbricks’ mission is revolutionary

Thanks to falling costs due to the automation of printing technology, printed model organisms will also be implemented in human medicine in the near future. For example, mini-organs of cancer patients can be replicated a hundred times over to test for the right medicine and dosage. Model organs from human cells can be printed on chips which safeguard the metabolic cycle and organ maintenance. Using this chip, medicines can be introduced into the metabolic cycle and tested during the research phase on living human model organs. This will soon make countless animal tests unnecessary. And if an active ingredient fails to demonstrate the desired effect on the printed organ, or if side effects occur, the need for extremely expensive clinical studies will be eliminated. We are hopeful, for example, that using personalized organ-on-a-chip tests,
it will be possible to reduce pain and unnecessary discomfort caused by incorrect chemotherapy and dramatically improve the chances of recovery.

Enormous potential

In a few decades, replacement organs – printed from the body’s own cells – will replace donor organs, which are much too scarce. The probability that the new organ will be rejected can thus be lowered dramatically. Another conceivable step is the development of entirely new organs which take on functional tasks in the human body: from the production of endogenous materials such as insulin down to specific medicines for chronic illnesses. But that’s not all: In the future, various blueprints for bioprinting will be stored in a digital library. These can be retrieved rapidly and easily from the cloud. So a patient needs a new coronary artery for his heart? In the future, it will be possible to download the appropriate model and print it out using the patient’s own cells. It’s hard to imagine a more direct and effective way for technology to benefit people.

What’s next…

Today, Cellbricks already enables printed biological materials to be used in laboratories for testing drug agents on human models without risk to human subjects. Without extensive experience in 3D data modeling, some biologists are still unable to access this technology. Our goal is to create an ecosystem that allows biologists to print live biological materials. That is why we developed the Bloodline 3D bioprinting software. The Bloodline prototype demonstrates the first and perhaps the most important function of the software – working vascularization. We received a prize for Bloodline at “Start-up Competition – Digital Innovation” from the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy at CeBIT in March 2017, a special milestone for us.

Read more about CELLBRICKS – Organs from 3D printers

Bloodline_Preiträger2017_Bundesministerium_WirtschaftundEnergie

Case Studies

CELLBRICKS – Menschliche Mini-Organe aus dem 3D-Drucker
Kunde

Gedruckte Biologie wird Laborarbeit fundamental verändern – so wie der Personal Computer die Arbeit in den Büros verändert hat. Mit Cellbricks bauen wir ein 3D-Drucksystem, mit dem Forscher biologische Modelle entwickeln, drucken und Experimente von überall auf der Welt durchführen können.

Die nächste Dimension: Der 3D-Organdruck hat begonnen!

Die Theorie ist denkbar einfach: Ein Leber-Bauplan, etwas klebrige Zellmasse, ein 3D-Drucker – fertig ist das neue Organ. Faktisch stecken jahrelange Forschung und brillante Köpfe hinter dem 3D-Drucksystem von Cellbricks: Die erste Schwierigkeit, so Dr. Lutz Kloke, Biologe und Gründer von Cellbricks, bestand darin einen „Klebstoff“ zu finden, in dem die Zellen nicht nur aneinander haften, sondern in dem sie sich auch pudelwohl fühlen. Nachdem das richtige Rezept gefunden war, brauchte es noch einen speziellen 3D-Drucker. Gängige Modelle spritzen mit Düsen tröpfchenweise die Zellmasse in Form – eine unpräzise und für unseren Anspruch zu grobe Verfahrensweise. Es musste eine Lösung gefunden werden, um auch feinste Strukturen und Gefäße drucken zu können.

Für Cellbricks wenden wir Schlüsseltechnologien an, die ihre Wurzeln nicht in der Biotechnologie, sondern in der IT, KI und Verfahrenstechnik finden:

1. 3D Tools und generative Algorithmen für die CAD-CAM Biologie

2. Datenbanken für Modelle (Miniorgane, Multiorgane…)

4. High-Resolution-Biodruck-Technologie (Intuity/CellBricks, pat. pending)

5. Essays und Chips (CellBricks, pat. Tech.)

Markus Turber, Geschäftsführer von Intuity: “Die Herausforderung ein 3D-Drucksystem für lebendige Organoiden zu entwickeln war zunächst total verrückt – aber auch extrem faszinierend. Das Team hat voller Begeisterung monatelang an der Hard- und Software getüftelt. Der entstandene 3D-Organ-Drucker ist derzeit einzigartig auf dem Markt und seine Druckergebnisse sind unglaublich präzise.“

Professionalität und Design

Intuity entwickelte für Cellbricks einen 3D-Gewebe-Drucker, der über eine besonders hohe Auflösung und die Fähigkeit verschiedene Zelltypen zu drucken verfügt. So sind selbst feinste Gefäßstrukturen, die für Organe und Gewebe notwendig sind, herstellbar. Cellbricks ist mit diesem Drucker in der Lage, dreidimensionales, lebendes Gewebe zu drucken, das sich durch Zellteilung weiterentwickelt. Einige Mini-Organe konnten bereits über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Monaten kultiviert werden. Der hochprofessionelle BioPrinter verfügt über eine intuitive Benutzeroberfläche, die den professionellen Gewebedruck in wenigen Schritten ermöglicht und optisch erfahrbar macht.

Weltweit verfügen nur wenige Wissenschaftsteams über fundiertes Wissen zum Druck von Organen, und Zellgeweben. Cellbricks ist eines davon: Es verfügt über patentierte Stoffe, die es dem Startup erlauben, Zellen formstabil zu modellieren, ohne den Stoffwechsel der Zellen zu beeinträchtigen: Es gefällt den Zellen, gedruckt zu werden. Sie teilen sich und wachsen gemäß ihres biologischen Bauplans weiter.

Cellbricks Mission ist bahnbrechend

Dank der sinkenden Kosten durch die Automation der Drucktechnologie werden gedruckte Modellorganismen in naher Zukunft auch in der Humanmedizin im Einsatz sein. Beispielsweise können an hundertfach replizierten Miniorganen von Krebspatienten die richtigen Medikamente und Dosen getestet werden. Modellorgane aus menschlichen Zellen können auf Chips gedruckt werden, die den Stoffwechselkreislauf und die Versorgung des Organs gewährleisten. Über diesen Chip können Medikamente in den Stoffwechselkreislauf eingebracht werden und im Forschungsstadium an lebenden menschlichen Modell-Organen getestet werden. Dies macht schon bald unzählige Tierversuche überflüssig. Und falls ein Wirkstoff die erwünschte Wirkung am gedruckten Organ nicht entfaltet oder Nebenwirkungen auftreten, können außerordentlich teure klinische Studien eingespart werden. Wir dürfen hoffen, dass dank personalisierter Organ-On-a-Chip-Tests beispielsweise auch Schmerzen und unnötige Belastungen durch falsche Chemotherapien reduziert und Heilungschancen drastisch verbessert werden.

Enormes Potenzial

In wenigen Jahrzehnten werden Ersatzorgane – aus körpereigenen Zellen gedruckt – die viel zu knappen Spenderorgane ersetzen. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Abstoßung des neuen Organs sinkt damit rapide. Denkbar ist auch die Entwicklung von völlig neuen Organen, die funktionale Aufgaben im im menschlichen Körper übernehmen: von der Produktion körpereigener Stoffe wie Insulin bis hin zu spezifischen Medikamenten für chronische Erkrankungen.Doch damit nicht genug: Künftig werden diverse Baupläne für den Biodruck in einer digitalen Bibliothek gespeichert sein. Sie sind schnell und komfortabel über die Cloud abrufbar. Ein Patient braucht ein neues Koronargefäß für sein Herz? Künftig kann das das entsprechende Modell heruntergeladen und mit patienteneigenen Zellen ausgedruckt werden. Direkter und effektiver kann Technik dem Menschen nicht nutzen.

Wie geht es weiter…

Cellbricks ermöglicht es bereits heute gedruckte Biologie in den Laboren Medikamentenwirkstoffe risikofrei zu an menschlichen Modellen zu testen. Ohne fundierte Erfahrung in der Modellierung von 3D Daten, bleibt einigen Biologen der Zugriff auf diese Technologie jedoch noch verwehrt. Unser Ziel ist es, ein Ecosystem zu schaffen, das es jedem Biologen ermöglicht lebende Biologie zu drucken. Deshalb haben wir die 3D-Bioprinting-Software Bloodline entwickelt. Der Bloodline-Prototyp demonstriert die erste und vielleicht wichtigste Funktion – eine funktionsfähige Vaskularisierung. Als besonderen Meilenstein haben wir im März 2017 einen Preis beim „Gründerwettbewerb – Digitale Innovationen“ vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie auf der CeBIT für Bloodline verliehen bekommen.

Mehr zu CELLBRICKS – Organe aus dem 3D-Drucker
Mehr zu User Experience Design Award 2017

Bloodline_Preiträger2017_Bundesministerium_WirtschaftundEnergieUser Experience Design Award 2017 - Gold for: organ as a service

Case Studies