ComfyLight illuminates home security
Client

“Hardware is hard” is one of the most commonly quoted adages within the high-tech startup scene. ComfyLight is one of the stars among the German startups that dared to take on the development of networked products.

ComfyLight combines the comfort of a networked light bulb with state-of-the-art sensors and machine learning. This turns the LED lamp into a security solution that can learn to differentiate a burglar from a cat. Besides detecting break-ins, ComfyLight can also actively protect a home from burglary. It can learn to simulate the presence of a home’s residents in a way that looks natural. The founders’ conscious decision not to put a camera in ComfyLight means that it protects not only the property of the residents, but also their privacy.

ComfyLight was a success story from the get-go! The business plans already won several competitions with significant sums of prize money and made it possible to create the first prototype. Initial investors were thrilled by the idea. A highly successful crowd-funding campaign on Kickstarter provided enough momentum. In spring 2017, the lamp, ComfyCloud, ComfyApps and all other components of the ecosystem were done and could be sent to backers and customers.

The close collaboration with ComfyLight started even before the foundation of ComfyLight AG, as the team of founders were researching solutions related to the Internet of Things and Services at the University of St.Gallen. The ideas were followed by the entrepreneurial concept to bring innovation to the market and start a company at the same time. Intuity developed the user experience together with the colleagues at ComfyLight, especially through the apps and brand for ComfyLight. The product was designed by our friends at Yuno Design.

Awards

Gold for ComfyLight! The German Design Council honors ComfyLight with the German Design Award 2018 in gold in the Digital Products category.

IF Design Award

CES Innovation Awards Honoree

Nominations

German Energy Award

Case Studies

ComfyLight beleuchtet Sicherheit im Zuhause neu
Kunde

„Hardware is hard“ ist eine der meistzitierten Bemerkungen in der High-Tech-Gründerszene. ComfyLight ist einer der Stars unter den deutschen Startups, die sich in die Entwicklung vernetzter Produkte gewagt haben.

ComfyLight kombiniert den Komfort einer vernetzten Glühbirne mit modernsten Sensoren und maschinellem Lernen. Dadurch wird die LED-Leuchte zu einer Sicherheitslösung, die lernt den Einbrecher von der eigenen Katze zu unterscheiden. Neben der Erkennung von Einbrüchen, kann ComfyLight auch aktiv vor Einbruch schützen. Sie lernt die Präsenz der Bewohner in natürlicher Weise zu simulieren. Da die Gründer bewußt auf eine Kamera verzichten, schützt ComfyLight nicht nur das Eigentum, sondern auch die Privatsphäre der Bewohner.

ComfyLight war von Beginn an eine Erfolgsgeschichte! Schon die Businesspläne gewannen in gut dotierten Wettbewerben und ermöglichten den Bau eines ersten Prototypen. Erste Investoren konnten für die Idee begeistert werden. Auch eine sehr erfolgreiche Crowd-Funding-Kampagne bei Kickstarter sorgte für genug Rückenwind auf dem Weg. Im Frühjahr 2017 waren die Leuchte, ComfyCloud und ComfyApps nebst allem was zum Ecosystem dazugehört fertig und konnte an Unterstützer und Kunden verschickt werden.

Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit ComfyLight startete schon im Vorfeld der Gründung der ComfyLight AG, als das Gründerteam an der Universität St.Gallen im Rahmen ihrer Promotion an Lösungen im Rahmen des Internets der Dinge und Dienste forschten. Den Ideen folgte der unternehmerische Wille, aus den Ideen auch eine Innovation auf den Markt zu bringen und gleichzeitig eine Unternehmen zu gründen. Gemeinsam mit den Kollegen von ComfyLight entwickelte Intuity die User Experience, v.a. durch die Apps und die Marke für ComfyLight. Unsere Freunde von Yuno Design gestalteten das Produkt.

Awards

Gold für ComfyLight! Der Rat für Formgebung zeichnet ComfyLight mit dem German Design Award 2018 in Gold für digitale Produkte aus.

Red Dot Design Award

CES Innovation Awards Honoree

Nominierungen

German Energy Award

Case Studies