The “blue thread“ in industrial metrology
Client

The measurement technology of tomorrow rests on two pillars. On the one hand, it is based on intelligent and highly automated measuring instruments and control algorithms, and on the other hand, on the best possible support for the user. We design and develop the programming of test plans in collaboration with ZEISS. All of the relevant features of a component such as dimensions, radii, geometry, tolerances and texts are automatically recorded, checked and documented for checking. The O-SELECT digital measuring projector is regarded as a pioneer in the field of measurement technology for intelligent systems and innovative user interfaces.

The O-SELECT measuring projector from ZEISS enables simple, reliable optical measurement of 2D components, such as punched parts, bending parts, injection-molded or laser-cut workpieces. The system is used in the industrial production environment for quality assurance purposes.

Automation made easy: serial measurement at the press of a button

“One button, one truth”. The projector only features one button for measurement. When measuring a single component or multiple components of the same type, the user simply places the workpiece on the measuring bench and starts the measuring process by pressing a button. New analysis algorithms recognize all relevant geometries – the right inspection plan is loaded fully automatically. Alignment, focusing, and illumination of the component, as well as measurement of the characteristics, are all realized fully automatically.

A focus on the component: measurement via “click & pick”

The O-SELECT’s innovative click & pick operation enables programming and processing of the inspection plan directly on the camera image for the first time ever. Radii, shapes, distances, and angles are automatically calculated upon selecting one or more geometries. These intelligent mechanics signify an outstanding user experience and efficient working when creating both simple and complex measuring sequences.

Visual and logical structuring: the “blue thread“

The division of complex measuring sequences into so-called measurement modules forms the core for the O-SELECT interaction design. Individual measurement modules result in a measuring program workflow: the “blue thread”. This form of navigation enables easy user orientation allowing the user to quickly adjust the measurement program. In the future, this highlight will represent a major component of ZEISS’s cross-software operating philosophy.

The clearly defined product design, measurement via “click & pick”, and the “blue thread” will form the core of a universal, uniform user experience for the entire ZEISS software range for industrial metrology systems.

Interdisciplinary, co-creative teamwork

Over the entire duration of the project, application technicians, software developers, product management from ZEISS, and our experts from Intuity were in close, cooperative collaboration. The user experience strategy and the interaction and visual design were defined together. Hypotheses and knowledge of solution options were synthesized in lead user workshops. Validation was performed with tangible pretotypes, and the relevant lessons learned from testing were continually incorporated into the agile development process of the O-SELECT.

“With their targeted, structured approach, the colleagues from Intuity quickly established themselves as an important component of the central project team. Their particular dedication and how much they enjoy their work have rubbed off onto other colleagues in our company. Intuity has also enabled the development of the creative potential of our employees with professionally organized and led workshops. Thanks to the ability to question existing structures and look at things from a different angle, Intuity has made a major contribution to developing innovative solutions to challenges. In the future, we will remain in close collaboration with Intuity – a decision based on the success of the finished product and the consistently positive feedback from our customers.”

Florian Dotschkal (Product Management Software, Carl Zeiss Industrielle Messtechnik GmbH*)

More about our philosophy and methods:

  • Working on new Products and Services: How to get it lean and more successful
  • Thoughts on innovation | Innovate like the Flying Circus!
  • Thoughts on innovation – Rely on fascination, not on fear
  • Lab Talk: Dr. Louis Klein speaking about Next Practice
  • Case Studies

Der „Blaue Faden“ in der Messtechnik
Kunde

Die Messtechnik von Morgen fußt auf zwei Säulen. Zum einen auf intelligente und hochautomatisierte Messgeräte und Steuerungsalgorithmen und zum anderen auf eine bestmögliche Unterstützung des Anwenders. In Zusammenarbeit mit ZEISS konzipieren und entwickeln wir das Programmieren von Prüfplänen. Dabei werden alle relevanten Merkmale eines Bauteils, wie z.B. Maße, Radien, Geometrie, Toleranten und Texte, zur Überprüfung automatisch erfasst, kontrolliert und dokumentiert. Der digitale Messprojektor O-SELECT gilt dabei als Vorreiter in der Messtechnik für intelligente Systeme und innovative Benutzerschnittstellen.

Der Messprojektor O-SELECT von ZEISS ermöglicht eine einfache und zuverlässige optische Messung von 2-D-Bauteilen, wie zum Beispiel Stanzteilen, Biegeteilen, Spritzgussteilen oder lasergeschnittenen Werkstücken. Das System wird zur Qualitätssicherung in der industriellen Produktionsumgebung eingesetzt.

Automation leicht gemacht: Serienmessung auf Knopfdruck

„One Button, one truth”. Auf dem Projektor befindet sich lediglich ein Button zur Messung. Bei der Messung eines einzelnen oder mehrerer gleicher Bauteile legt der Anwender sein Werkstück auf den Messtisch und startet den Messvorgang mit einem Knopfdruck. Neuartige Analyse-Algorithmen erkennen alle relevante Geometrien und der passende Prüfplan wird vollautomatisch geladen. Das Ausrichten, Fokussieren und Beleuchten des Bauteils sowie die Messung der Prüfmerkmale erfolgen ebenfalls automatisch.

Das Bauteil steht im Zentrum: Messen per „Click & Pick“

Die innovative Bedienung Click & Pick von O-SELECT ermöglicht erstmals, den Prüfplan direkt auf dem Kamerabild zu programmieren und zu bearbeiten. Bereits beim Selektieren einer oder mehrerer Geometrien werden Radien, Formen, Abstände und Winkel automatisch errechnet. Diese intelligente Mechanik ermöglicht eine großartige User-Experience und effizientes Arbeiten bei der Erstellung von einfachen und komplexen Messabläufen.

Visuelle und logische Strukturierung: Der „Blaue Faden”

Die Aufteilung komplexer Messabläufe in sogenannte Messbausteine bildet den Kern für das O-SELECT Interaction-Design. Aus einzelnen Messbausteinen ergibt sich der Workflow eines Messprogramms: der „Blaue Faden“. Diese Form der Navigation ermöglicht dem Anwender eine einfache Orientierung sowie eine schnelle Anpassung des Messprogramms. Der „Blaue Faden“ ist seitdem ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der softwareübergreifenden Bedienphilosophie von ZEISS.

Das klar definierte Produktdesign, Messen per „Click & Pick“ und der „Blaue Faden“ bilden den Kern einer übergreifenden und einheitlichen User-Experience für das gesamte Softwareportfolio der industriellen Messtechnik von ZEISS.

Interdisziplinäre und co-kreative Teamarbeit

Während der gesamten Projektlaufzeit fand eine enge und partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Anwendungstechnikern, Softwareentwicklern, dem Produktmanagement von ZEISS und unseren Experten von Intuity statt. Gemeinsam wurde die User-Experience-Strategie, das Interaction- und Visual-Design definiert. Über Lead-User-Workshops wurden Hypothesen und Erkenntnisse zu Lösungsoptionen synthetisiert. Die Validierung erfolgte über anfassbare Pretotypen, und die relevanten Erkenntnisse aus dem Testing flossen stetig in den agilen Entwicklungsprozess der O-Select ein.

„Mit ihrer zielgerichteten und strukturierten Arbeitsweise haben sich die Mitarbeiter von Intuity schnell als wichtiger Bestandteil des zentralen Projektteams etabliert. Das besondere Engagement und der Spaß an der Arbeit haben sich auf andere Kollegen in unserem Unternehmen übertragen. Das kreative Potenzial unserer Mitarbeiter hat Intuity zusätzlich durch professionell organisierte und geleitete Workshops zur Entfaltung gebracht. Durch die Fähigkeit, bestehende Strukturen zu hinterfragen und Dinge aus einem anderen Blickwinkel zu sehen, hat Intuity maßgeblich dazu beitragen, innovative Lösungen für Herausforderungen zu entwickeln. Auch für die Zukunft werden wir eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Intuity aufrechterhalten – eine Entscheidung, die auf dem Erfolg des fertigen Produkts und dem durchweg positiven Feedback unserer Kunden beruht.”

Florian Dotschkal (Product Management Software, Carl Zeiss Industrielle Messtechnik GmbH*)

Links:

  • Working on new Products and Services: How to get it lean and more successful
  • Thoughts on innovation | Innovate like the Flying Circus!
  • Thoughts on innovation – Rely on fascination, not on fear
  • Lab Talk: Dr. Louis Klein speaking about Next Practice
  • Case Studies