Kopernikus
Client

Robots are becoming an integral part of our daily lives. The technology that surrounds us is undergoing a transformation, and what was once a tool will become a companion. Artificial Intelligence will fundamentally alter the way in which we interact with technology and at the same time, will provide us with further social challenges and opportunities.


But how will these robots behave and upon what basis will they make decisions? This leads to the question: How do we design behavioural interfaces?

The answers to these questions can only be gained from practical experience. As a transdisciplinary team that is equipped with a wide range of expertise, we were faced with this challenge ourselves and started to develop tools that we could use to explore the vision of behavioural interfaces for next-generation products.

This is Kopernikus

Kopernikus Hero Shot

The result is Kopernikus – an experimental prototyping structure which enables us to form hypotheses and make them tangible in a quick and easy manner. Kopernikus is built of low-priced electronic components that can easily be found online. All the structural parts can be either 3d printed or machined with accessible tools and can be modified easily. We have published the list of components, the design and the elementary software modules in the form of an open-source project (Kopernikus.io).



Kopernikus is equipped with a stereo camera and three microphones so that it has a visual and audio grasp of its surroundings. It also has a pivotable laser projector and a speaker and is thus able to communicate with the outside world using audio signals and image projections. Using these basic properties, we are investigating how robots can act and communicate in a way that is agreeable to us humans.

Designing Behavioural Interfaces

With the use of neuronal networks, the developer can no longer directly influence how the robot behaves. On the contrary, it is faced with the real world, processes the perceived inputs and makes decisions subsequently. A frequent example is robot navigation in living spaces. How does the robot orient itself? Which path does it choose in order to get from A to B and how does it deal with changes to the environment, for example if a human crosses its path? Conventional algorithms are quickly overwhelmed when it comes to making decisions in complex situations. But this is where the decisive aspects come into play: We want robots to handle complex problems in an elegant manner and solve them in a way that makes sense to us.



For us, one of the most exciting fields is heuristic problem solving, a system which uses concepts from cognitive science to model a human-like decision-making process. The two-tier system consists of many small ‘agents’, which constantly make suggestions about which movement the robot should make next, while the other half is constantly evaluating them with regard to the sensory data generated from the surroundings. By varying the weighting of the evaluators, it is possible to influence the decisions that the system makes and ultimately the perceived personality of the robot.

Between research and design

At Intuity, prototyping is one of the most important tools for approaching complex problems. Prototyping makes ideas concrete. The resulting artifacts form an important basis for discussions, which not only accelerates the learning process, but often makes it possible in the first place. It is of fundamental importance that technologies are made accessible to a wide audience so that the creative potential can be exploited. It must be possible to play and experiment with technologies. Errors have to be permissible. This is the only way to produce tools which can solve the problems of our age.

Learn more at Kopernikus.io

This project was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

BMBF Logo

Kopernikus is a winner of the UX Design Awards 2018 in the category “Concept”

UX Design Award Logo

Case Studies

Kopernikus
Kunde

Roboter werden zum alltäglichen Bestandteil unseres Lebens. Die Technologie, die uns umgibt, ist im Wandel und was Werkzeug war, wird zum Begleiter. Künstliche Intelligenz wird die Art, wie wir mit Technologie interagieren grundlegend verändern und stellt uns gleichzeitig vor weitere gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen und Chancen.

Doch wie werden sich Roboter verhalten und auf welcher Grundlage werden sie Entscheidungen treffen? Dies führt zu der Frage: wie können wir verhaltens-basierte Interfaces gestalten?

Die Antworten auf diese Fragen kann nur der konkrete Erkenntnisgewinn liefern. Als transdisziplinäres Team, ausgestattet mit verschiedensten Expertisen, standen wir selbst vor dieser Herausforderung und begannen Werkzeuge für uns selbst zu bauen, um die Vision von verhaltens-basierten Schnittstellen zu Produkten der nächsten Generation zu erforschen.

This is Kopernikus

Kopernikus Hero Shot

Das Ergebnis ist Kopernikus, ein experimenteller Prototyping Aufbau, der es uns ermöglicht Hypothesen aufzustellen und diese schnell und einfach erfahrbar zu machen. Kopernikus besteht aus einfachen elektronischen Komponenten, unkompliziert herzustellenden Teilen und kann problemlos modifiziert werden. Die Komponentenliste, die Konstruktion sowie die elementaren Softwarebausteine haben wir als Open Source Projekt veröffentlicht (Kopernikus.io).

Kopernikus ist mit einer Stereokamera ausgestattet und drei Mikrophonen, um räumliches Sehen und Hören zu ermöglichen. Des weiteren besitzt er einen schwenkbaren Laserprojektor und einen Lautsprecher, und kann somit mit Audiosignalen und Bildprojektionen mit der Außenwelt kommunizieren. Mit diesen Grundeigenschaften untersuchen wir, wie Roboter agieren und kommunizieren können in einer für uns Menschen angenehmen Art und Weise.

Designing Behavioural Interfaces

Mit dem Einsatz von neuronalen Netzen kann der Entwickler nicht mehr direkt darauf einwirken, wie der Roboter agiert. Dieser wird hingegen mit der realen Welt konfrontiert, verarbeitet die wahrgenommenen Inputs und trifft im folgenden Entscheidungen. Ein übliches Beispiel ist die Roboternavigation in Wohnräumen. Wie orientiert sich der Roboter? Welchen Weg wählt er, um von A nach B zu kommen und wie geht er mit Veränderungen der Umgebung um, zum Beispiel ein Mensch der seinen Weg kreuzt? Herkömmliche Algorithmen sind schnell überfordert, wenn es darum geht Entscheidungen in komplexen Situationen zu treffen. Doch gerade hier finden wir einen der entscheidenden Aspekte: wir möchten, dass Roboter elegant mit komplexen Problemen umgehen und diese auf eine für uns verständliche Art lösen.

Eines der für uns spannendsten Felder ist das Heuristic Problem Solving, ein System, welches Konzepte aus der Kognitionswissenschaft nutzt, um einen dem Menschen ähnlichen Entscheidungsprozess zu modellieren. Das zweigeteilte System besteht aus vielen kleinen “Agenten”, die konstant Vorschläge machen, welche Bewegung der Roboter als nächstes macht, während die andere Hälfte diese im Hinblick auf die aus der Umgebung generierten Sensordaten ständig evaluiert. In dem man die Gewichtung der Evaluatoren variiert, beeinflusst man die Entscheidungen, die das System trifft und damit letztendlich die wahrgenommene Persönlichkeit des Roboters.

Zwischen Forschung und Design

Bei Intuity ist Prototyping eines der wichtigsten Werkzeuge, um komplexe Probleme anzugehen. Beim Prototyping konkretisieren sich Ideen. Die entstehenden Artefakte sind wertvolle Diskussionsgrundlagen, die den Lernprozess beschleunigen, oft sogar erst ermöglichen. Es ist von fundamentaler Bedeutung, dass Technologien für ein breites Publikum zugänglich gemacht werden, damit das kreative Potential genutzt werden kann. Mit Technologien muss gespielt und experimentiert werden können, Fehler müssen erlaubt sein. Nur so entstehen daraus Werkzeuge, mit denen man die Probleme unserer Zeit lösen kann.

Erfahre mehr auf Kopernikus.io

Diese Projekt wurde gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

BMBF Logo

Kopernikus ist Preisträger des UX Design Awards 2018 in der Kategorie „Concept“

UX Design Award Logo

Case Studies