Ihr Browser (Internet Explorer 10/11) ist veraltet. Aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser für mehr Sicherheit, Geschwindigkeit und den besten Komfort auf dieser Seite.
Optician at work, looking at a patient, using a Zeiss interface
Mono page of the Zeiss application on a tablet
Near page of the Zeiss application on a tablet

Positive experience for subjective refraction

Almost two-thirds of people in Germany wear glasses. Just over one-third of them wear glasses at all times. Therefore, many patients are familiar with the long and challenging vision test, during which the eye chart and phoropter are used. For the next generation of devices, Intuity has come up with an interaction and user interface design that supports the working procedure of opticians and ophthalmologists.

The new eye chart and refractor are controlled simultaneously via an tablet pc, allowing the patient, optometrist or ophthalmologist to enjoy the benefits of comfort, speed and precision – and leaving more time for individual consultation.

Both eye chart and refractor are linked with each other and with a database. The patient’s data is stored here. The same applies to other ZEISS equipment for subjective and objective refraction (autorefractor, wavefront measuring device, lensmeter), intraocular pressure testing, and slit lamp examination. This connectivity – as a concrete example – created the foundation for fundamental transformations in business models in the medical industry.

Research – User interviews, user observation and training
Research – User interviews, user observation and training
Interaction Design – Sketching wireframes
Interaction Design – Sketching wireframes
UX Design – Promote decision making with pretotypes
UX Design – Promote decision making with pretotypes
Pretotyping – Sketching possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Sketching possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Testing possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Testing possible opportunities
Visual Design – Views and icons
Visual Design – Views and icons
Visual Design – 3D rendering
Visual Design – 3D rendering

The project involved visual & interaction designers, creative technologists, product managers and technical experts. Intuity developed the design strategy, interactive prototypes and programmed the front-end. The ZEISS team came up with the industrial design vision, implemented the design and programmed the back-end. Both teams worked very closely together on site and supported user tests.

ZEISS and Intuity fulfilled the industry standards for safety, operation, precision and materiality.

We used our 12 principles for Lean User Experience Design both for this project, as well as in our work for the VISUPLAN 500 and the redesign of iTerminal from ZEISS.

Ihr Browser (Internet Explorer 10/11) ist veraltet. Aktualisieren Sie Ihren Browser für mehr Sicherheit, Geschwindigkeit und den besten Komfort auf dieser Seite.
Optikerin bei der Arbeit, mit Blick auf einen Patienten ein Zeiss Interface bedienend
Mono Seite der Zeiss Application auf einem Tablet
Near Seite der Zeiss Anwendung auf einem Tablet

Komfort beim Sehtest

Fast zwei Drittel aller Menschen in Deutschland tragen eine Brille. Davon trägt etwas mehr als ein Drittel die Brille ständig. Viele Patienten kennen daher den langwierigen und anstrengenden Sehtest – die subjektive Refraktion, bei der die Sehtafel und der Phoropter eingesetzt werden. Für die nächste Generation der Geräte gestaltete Intuity ein Interaction- und User-Interface-Design, das die Arbeitsweise des Optikers und Augenarztes unterstützt.

Die neue Sehtafel und der Phoropter werden zeitgleich über einen Tablet PC gesteuert und Patient, Optiker oder Augenarzt kommen so in den Genuss von Komfort, Geschwindigkeit und Präzision – und es bleibt mehr zeit für individuelle Beratung.

Sowohl Sehtafel als auch Phoropter sind miteinander und mit einer Datenbank vernetzt. Hier werden die Patientendaten gespeichert. Gleiches gilt für weitere ZEISS-Geräte zur subjektiven und objektiven Refraktion (Autorefraktor, Wellenfrontmessgerät, Scheitelbrechwertmesser), zur Augeninnendruckmessung, und zur Spaltlampenuntersuchung. Mit dieser Konnektivität als ein konkretes Beispiel entsteht das Fundament für grundlegend Transformationen der Geschäftsmodelle in der Medizinbranche.

Research – User interviews, user observation and training
Research – User interviews, user observation and training
Interaction Design – Sketching wireframes
Interaction Design – Sketching wireframes
UX Design – Promote decision making with pretotypes
UX Design – Promote decision making with pretotypes
Pretotyping – Sketching possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Sketching possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Testing possible opportunities
Pretotyping – Testing possible opportunities
Visual Design – Views and icons
Visual Design – Views and icons
Visual Design – 3D rendering
Visual Design – 3D rendering

Am Projekt beteiligt waren Visual & Interaction-Designer, Creative Technologists, Produktmanager und Fachexperten. Intuity entwickelte die Design-Strategie, interaktive Prototypen und programmierte das Front-End. Das ZEISS-Team verwirklichte die Industriedesign-Vision, realisierte die Konstruktion und programmierte das Back-End. Beide Teams arbeiteten sehr eng vor Ort zusammen und begleiteten gemeinsam User-Tests.

ZEISS und Intuity erfüllten die strengen Industriestandards für die Sicherheit, Bedienung, Präzision und Materialität.

Sowohl bei diesem Projekt, als auch bei unserer Arbeit für den VISUPLAN 500 und die Neugestaltung des iTerminal von ZEISS haben wir unsere 12 Grundsätzen zu Lean User-Experience-Design eingesetzt.