Positive experience for subjective refraction
Client

Almost two-thirds of people in Germany wear glasses. Just over one-third of them wear glasses at all times. Therefore, many patients are familiar with the long and challenging vision test, during which the eye chart and phoropter are used. For the next generation of devices, Intuity has come up with an interaction and user interface design that supports the working procedure of opticians and ophthalmologists.

The new eye chart and refractor are controlled simultaneously via an tablet pc, allowing the patient, optometrist or ophthalmologist to enjoy the benefits of comfort, speed and precision – and leaving more time for individual consultation.

Both eye chart and refractor are linked with each other and with a database. The patient’s data is stored here. The same applies to other ZEISS equipment for subjective and objective refraction (autorefractor, wavefront measuring device, lensmeter), intraocular pressure testing, and slit lamp examination. This connectivity – as a concrete example – created the foundation for fundamental transformations in business models in the medical industry. Read more: “Convergence of business models”

The project involved visual & interaction designers, creative technologists, product managers and technical experts. Intuity developed the design strategy, interactive prototypes and programmed the front-end. The ZEISS team came up with the industrial design vision, implemented the design and programmed the back-end. Both teams worked very closely together on site and supported user tests.

ZEISS and Intuity fulfilled the industry standards for safety, operation, precision and materiality.

We used our 12 principles for Lean User Experience Design both for this project, as well as in our work for the VISUPLAN 500 and the redesign of iTerminal from ZEISS. Read more: “How to get it lean and more successful?”

Case Studies

Komfort beim Sehtest
Kunde

Fast zwei Drittel aller Menschen in Deutschland tragen eine Brille. Davon trägt etwas mehr als ein Drittel die Brille ständig. Viele Patienten kennen daher den langwierigen und anstrengenden Sehtest – die subjektive Refraktion, bei der die Sehtafel und der Phoropter eingesetzt werden. Für die nächste Generation der Geräte gestaltete Intuity ein Interaction- und User-Interface-Design, das die Arbeitsweise des Optikers und Augenarztes unterstützt.

Die neue Sehtafel und der Phoropter werden zeitgleich über einen Tablet PC gesteuert und Patient, Optiker oder Augenarzt kommen so in den Genuss von Komfort, Geschwindigkeit und Präzision – und es bleibt mehr zeit für individuelle Beratung.

Sowohl Sehtafel als auch Phoropter sind miteinander und mit einer Datenbank vernetzt. Hier werden die Patientendaten gespeichert. Gleiches gilt für weitere ZEISS-Geräte zur subjektiven und objektiven Refraktion (Autorefraktor, Wellenfrontmessgerät, Scheitelbrechwertmesser), zur Augeninnendruckmessung, und zur Spaltlampenuntersuchung. Mit dieser Konnektivität als ein konkretes Beispiel entsteht das Fundament für grundlegend Transformationen der Geschäftsmodelle in der Medizinbranche. Mehr dazu:„Konvergenz der Geschäftsmodelle“.

Am Projekt beteiligt waren Visual & Interaction-Designer, Creative Technologists, Produktmanager und Fachexperten. Intuity entwickelte die Design-Strategie, interaktive Prototypen und programmierte das Front-End. Das ZEISS-Team verwirklichte die Industriedesign-Vision, realisierte die Konstruktion und programmierte das Back-End. Beide Teams arbeiteten sehr eng vor Ort zusammen und begleiteten gemeinsam User-Tests.

ZEISS und Intuity erfüllten die strengen Industriestandards für die Sicherheit, Bedienung, Präzision und Materialität.

Sowohl bei diesem Projekt, als auch bei unserer Arbeit für den VISUPLAN 500 und die Neugestaltung des iTerminal von ZEISS haben wir unsere 12 Grundsätzen zu Lean User-Experience-Design eingesetzt. Mehr dazu: “How to get it lean and more successful?”

Case Studies