INDUSTRY 4.0 – DIGITALIZATION AND NETWORKING

Tools and technical components know when they need to be replaced – machines can speak to each other and warehouses know what content they hold and can coordinate the logistics. Organizations and their infrastructure are connected to software that goes beyond the company’s physical limits and all the way to the customer.

Digitalization and networking in the industry paves the way for versatile options in order to increase a company’s potential for vertical integration, opportunities for developing differentiation as well as providing options for new business systems. It also opens the door to new potential in the horizontal integration between companies and end users. The complete horizontal integration of Industry 4.0 creates an end-to-end supply chain network that connects the customer, warehouse, distributors, production and suppliers in real time.

Not all changes need to be revolutionary and radical for the companies. Strategies for incremental optimization which focus on digital upgrades of the existing systems also have their place.

The continual digitalization and networking of the industry also change the way new solutions are explored, the existing business as well as the company’s strategy. Rapid technological transformation leads the IT, production, administration and employees of a company into an integrated and highly interconnected system. This in turn leads to adaptive methods, processes and organizational structures at companies which are accompanied by a profound cultural transformation. This creates new ways of looking at data and its impact on the business. In other words: big data and analysis.

Thus, the continuous transformation is also a constant challenge for businesses.

Every ambitious goal begins with a single step

In a collaborative effort, we explore and develop theories on novel uses and benefits of future systems, applications and services in the context of the Industrial Internet (Industry 4.0). Validation of these hypotheses is carried out via tangible pretotypes or prototypes. In this way, validated innovation clusters are created to explore new fields of business and spheres of activity of the future.

This approach creates a common language for all stakeholders involved. A common language encourages an efficient and creative process from which a common direction for the future is produced.

Case Studies

Industrie 4.0 – Digitalisierung und Vernetzung

Werkzeuge und technische Komponenten wissen, wann sie ausgetauscht werden müssen – Maschinen können miteinander sprechen – Warenlager kennen Ihren Inhalt und koordinieren die Logistik. Organisationen und deren Infrastruktur sind mit Software verbunden, über Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg bis zum Kunden.

Die Digitalisierung und Vernetzung in der Industrie ermöglicht vielseitige Möglichkeiten um Potenziale bezüglich der vertikalen Integration im Unternehmen zu heben, Chancen zur Differenzierung zu entwickeln und Optionen auf neue Geschäftssysteme zu besetzen.
Und sie eröffnet Potenziale in der horizontalen Integration zwischen Unternehmen und Endkunden. Die vollständige horizontale Integration von Industrie 4.0 bildet ein End-2-End Supply Chain Netzwerk, das Kunden, das Warehouse, die Distributoren, die Produktion und Lieferanten in Echtzeit verbindet.

Nicht alle damit verbundenen Änderungen im Unternehmen müssen revolutionär und radikal, sprich disruptiv sein. Auch Strategien der inkrementellen Optimierung, die sich auf eine digitale Veredelung von bestehenden Systemen fokussieren, haben ihre Berechtigung.

Die stetige Digitalisierung und Vernetzung der Industrie verändert zeitgleich auch die Exploration von neuartigen Lösungen, die Unternehmensstrategie und das bestehende Geschäft. Der rasche technologische Wandel führt die IT, die Produktion, die Administration und die Menschen in einem Unternehmen zu einem ganzheitlichen und hoch vernetzten System zusammen. Das führt zu adaptiven Methoden, Prozessen und Organisationsformen im Unternehmen, welche von einem tiefgreifenden Kulturwandel begleitet werden. Dies ermöglicht neue Sichtweisen auf Daten und deren Auswirkungen auf das Geschäft: Big Data und Analyse.

Somit ist die stetige Transformation auch eine stetige unternehmerische Herausforderung.

Jedes ambitioniertes Ziel beginnt mit einem ersten Schritt

Co-explorativ entwickeln wir Thesen zu neuartigem Nutzen zukünftiger Systeme, Anwendungen und Diensten im Kontext des Industrial Internet (Industrie 4.0). Die Validierung dieser Thesen erfolgt über anfassbare Pretotypen oder Prototypen. Damit schaffen wir validierte Innovationskerne zur Erkundung zukünftiger, neuer Geschäfts- und Handlungsfelder.

Diese Vorgehensweise schafft eine gemeinsame Sprache für alle beteiligten Stakeholder. Eine gemeinsame Sprache fördert einen effektiven und kreativen Prozess, aus dem ein gemeinsamer Richtungs-Sinn für die Zukunft entsteht.

Case Studies