Individualization instead of diversification

„The purpose of medicine should not only be expanding one’s lifetime, but also invigorate everyday life.” - Georg Christoph Lichtenberg

Upcoming solutions in telemedicine complement our existing mainframe medical system with it’s big centralized hospitals and service providers. Frugal technologies and the use of big data enable long-term observations and foster better diagnoses.These solutions offer an accessible, cost efficient, transparent way to improve the healthiness of us all.

Intuity, Convergence, Business Model, Medical Industry

Convergence of Business Models

Current medical devices in the field of ophthalmology – as a concrete example for medical industry – are ready to be link to a database. This includes devices for subjective and objective refractors (autorefractor, wavefront measuring device and lensometer), intraocular pressure testing, and slit lamp examination. All devices have a serial interface for integration in an EMR and EHR system, i.e. a electronic patient management systems from one service provider and a comprehensive electronic patient record from all service providers.
The connection of products and systems and the integration of data from different sources makes it possible to create a completely new service ecosystem.
Personal biometric and medical data can then be easily and safely transferred from one usage context to another – for example, from the ophthalmologist to the optician.

We would like to take this opportunity to mention only a few conceivable aspects of this scenario:

  • The customer can, if necessary, make the data collected by the optician securely available to his ophthalmologist or to an online store. This avoids having to collect biometric and medical data twice, saving time and money and going easy on the budget of the health insurance companies and privately insured patients with a deductible.
  • For his valuable work and for the transfer of data, the optician receives separate remuneration in the form of micro-payments each time – in the case of data usage: by ophthalmologists, online stores, customers and insurance companies.
  • The biometric data enables online stores to offer mass customized glasses and lenses. The glasses are then produced, customized and shipped by ZEISS, for example.
  • The medical devices communicate with each other and with EMR systems from different manufacturers via an interface. This allows the devices to be integrated into the existing IT and medical equipment infrastructure of opticians, ophthalmologists and clinics. Which, in turn, promotes the sale of equipment and allows downstream upselling as well as maintenance and retrofitting of equipment.
  • Connectivity facilitates remote maintenance of the equipment, and employees can participate in remote training courses and professional development.
  • Anonymously provided biometric and medical data allows products to be optimized or even newly developed.
  • Other lifestyle medical products can be developed to promote health and support therapeutic measures. Doctors will prescribe more apps and less medication in the future.

Doing business must be re-imagined and made real through innovative offerings.Strategic design is more than just an aesthetic finger exercise. Those who are willing to take calculated risks today and implement new business models and new services as well as to leverage digitization to perceive customers’ wishes and needs are destined to leave the competition behind.

More about design strategy: “A good design strategy can handle a moving goal.”

For eyechart and phoropter control and for the operation of VISUPLAN 500 and iTerminal from ZEISS, we have promoted user experience with 12 principles. Read more: “How to get it lean and more successful?”

Case Studies

Individualisierung statt Breitband

„Die Medizin sollte nicht nur dem Leben Jahre geben, sondern auch den Jahren Leben.” - Georg Christoph Lichtenberg

Jahrzehntelang erschien medizinischer Fortschritt in Form monolithischer Apparate, die den Trend zur Spezialisierung und Zentralisierung beschleunigten. Diese Entwicklung verliert an Dynamik. Im Gegensatz dazu, gewinnen vernetzte und kostengünstige Technologien zur Diagnose und Therapie.

Einfache, vernetzte Lösungen bieten kosteneffiziente und transparente Wege den Gesundheitszustand besser einzuschätzen, zu kontrollieren und gegebenenfalls zu therapieren. Das bringt eine bessere Lebensqualität für die Meisten Menschen mit sich.

Intuity, Konvergenz, Geschäftsmodelle, Medizintechnik

Konvergenz der Geschäftsmodelle

Aktuelle Medizingeräte im Bereich der Augenheilkunde – als konkretes Beispiel – können heute bereits mit Datenbanken vernetzt werden. Dazu gehören Geräte zur subjektiven und objektiven Refraktion (Autorefraktor, Wellenfrontmessgerät, Scheitelbrechwertmesser), zur Augeninnendruckmessung, und zur Spaltlampenuntersuchung. Alle Geräte verfügen über eine serielle Schnittstelle zur Integration in ein EMR- und EHR-System, also eine elektronische Patientenakte beziehungsweise ein Patientenmanagementsystem eines Dienstleisters und eine übergreifende elektronische Patientenakte aller Dienstleister.

Durch die Vernetzung von Produkten und Systemen sowie die Integration von Daten aus unterschiedlichen Quellen wird es möglich, ein ganz neues Service-Ökosystem zu schaffen.
Nun können die persönlichen biometrischen und medizinischen Daten einfach und sicher von einem Nutzungskontext in den anderen überführt werden – beispielsweise vom Augenarzt zum Optiker.

Wir möchten an dieser Stelle nur ein paar denkbare Aspekte dieses Szenarios nennen:

  • Der Kunde kann bei Bedarf die durch den Optiker erhobenen Daten seinem Augenarzt oder einem Online-Store sicher zur Verfügung stellen. So müssen biometrische und medizinische Daten nicht doppelt erhoben werden. Das spart Zeit und Geld und schont das Budget der Krankenkassen.
  • Der Optiker erhält für seine wertvolle Arbeit und für die Weitergabe der Daten jeweils eine separate Entlohnung in Form von Micro-Payments – im Falle der Datennutzung: Von Augenärzten, Online-Stores, den Kunden und Krankenkassen.
  • Online-Stores können mit den biometrischen Daten Mass Customized Brillengestelle und Gläser anbieten. Die Gläser werden dann beispielsweise produziert, angepasst und versandt.
  • Die Medizingeräte sprechen untereinander und mit EMR-Systemen von unterschiedlichen Herstellern über eine Schnittstelle. Dadurch können die Geräte in die bestehende IT- und Medizingeräte-Infrastruktur von Optikern, Augenärzten und Kliniken integriert werden. Das fördert den Verkauf der Geräte, und ermöglicht ein nachgelagertes Upselling wie Wartung und Nachrüstung von Geräten.
  • Durch die Konnektivität wird eine Fernwartung der Geräte möglich und Mitarbeiter können „remote“ an Fortbildungen und Schulungen teilnehmen.
  • Durch anonym bereitgestellte biometrische und medizinische Daten können Produkte optimiert oder sogar neu entwickelt werden.
  • Weitere Lifestyle Medizin-Produkte können zur Gesundheitsförderung und therapeutischen Unterstützung entstehen. Ärzte verschreiben künftig Apps und weniger Medikamente.

Wirtschaften muss neu erdacht werden und sich in innovativen Angeboten konkretisieren. Strategisches Design ist mehr als nur eine ästhetische Fingerübung. Wer heute mutig handelt und neue Geschäftsmodelle, neue Dienstleistungen realisiert und getrieben durch die Digitalisierung die Wünsche und Bedürfnisse der Menschen wahrnimmt, lässt die Konkurrenz hinter sich.

Mehr über Design Strategie: “A good design strategy can handle a moving goal.”

Sowohl beim VISUPLAN 500, als auch bei unserer Arbeit für die Sehtafel- und Phoropter-Steuerung und die Neugestaltung des iTerminals von ZEISS haben wir unsere 12 Grundsätzen zum Lean User-Experience-Design eingesetzt. Mehr dazu: “How to get it lean and more successful?”

Case Studies