wolkenkit: working together to create a connected world

wolkenkit is a CQRS and event-sourcing framework for JavaScript and Node.js, which fits perfectly to DDD (domain-driven design). It provides the technical foundation for cloud-capable applications, including an event store and a scalable real-time API. This allows developers to focus on the essentials: the development of collaborative, interdisciplinary solutions for tomorrow’s connected world.

Modern software development with wolkenkit

The development of software is not an end in itself, but should always solve a real existing problem. A domain, which is the subject of the problem to be solved, must be mapped into code as accurately as possible. Only if the domain with its underlying logic is reproduced correctly in all its facets a software can achieve what is expected of it.

However, software development is still carried out within disciplinary boundaries. To solve a real-world problem comprehensively, an interdisciplinary team is crucial. Only this way – together – sustainable success is possible.

A shared understanding as the key to success in the long term

If all the roles involved in the development process gain a common understanding of the subject to be implemented, it is possible to accurately model the domain. Visionaries, company founders, CIOs, technologists, designers, product owners – in short, all those who are entrusted with solving technical challenges on a daily basis – are equally involved.

Once a shared understanding and a common language have been developed, it is necessary to translate the domain model into appropriate code. As a typical problem, too much time is wasted on solving technological problems instead of implementing what is important: solving real-world issues.

Hello, wolkenkit

This is where wolkenkit enters the scene. wolkenkit is an open-source framework that allows developers to focus on the essentials: solving real-world problems.

This way, a time-consuming setup of application environments is avoided, so that the problems and requirements of the real world can be poured into solutions more easily, quickly and cost-effectively. In other words, wolkenkit makes it possible to tailor software more precisely and flexibly to the domain-related needs and wishes of users.

DDD, event-sourcing and CQRS as a technological basis

Technologically, wolkenkit is based on the three concepts DDD (domain-driven design), event sourcing and CQRS (Command-Query-Responsibility-Segregation). This makes it possible to collect all domain-relevant events in the course of time, which can be evaluated historically. It also achieves high scalability, which is particularly important for digital products and services in the cloud.

Internally, wolkenkit generates an HTTP/2 and a websocket API for the modeled functionality, and also handles aspects such as authentication, authorization and persistence. The framework also supports the sending of real-time event notifications.

Strategic partnership

wolkenkit is developed by the native web a company specialized in native web technologies. The native web was founded in November 2012 by Susanna and Golo Roden, and Intuity has been involved as a partner since spring 2013. In this strategic partnership, developing the idea of wolkenkit was continued and driven forward in close cooperation. Matthias Wagler is involved as lead core developer for both companies.

the native web and Intuity share the enthusiasm for web technologies and the deep conviction that JavaScript is the platform of the future for digital products and services. The potential of co-creative and interdisciplinary cooperation is highly valued from our own experience, as this is the only way to create vital strategic partnerships that ultimately always lead to better solutions and products.

As a result of this interdisciplinary collaboration, wolkenkit helps create more targeted digital products, services and business systems for the connected world, thanks to its focus on specialist knowledge and innovation.

Editions: community and enterprise

In June 2017 wolkenkit 1.0 was released. the native web offers wolkenkit in two versions: the community edition is available under an open-source license for free. The paid enterprise edition offers additional features and allows the use in commercial environments. More information can be found on the project’s website and in the wolkenkit documentation .

A community is currently developing around wolkenkit, which primarily exchanges information via Slack and StackOverflow. Taking into account the feedback from the community, wolkenkit is constantly being developed further.


the native web offers an introduction to wolkenkit and the related concepts in a 68-page free ebook. In addition, videos are also available on the company’s own video platform tech:lounge to get you started with wolkenkit.

the native web attaches great importance to constructive and interdisciplinary cooperation. the native web and Intuity share the conviction that JavaScript and web technologies are the platform of the future.

Case Studies

wolkenkit: Die vernetzte Welt co-kreativ entwickeln
Kunde

wolkenkit ist ein CQRS- und Event-Sourcing-Framework für JavaScript und Node.js, das perfekt zu Domain-Driven Design passt. Es bietet die technische Grundlage für cloudfähige Anwendungen, einschließlich eines Event-Stores und einer skalierbaren Echtzeit-API. Dadurch können sich Entwickler auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren: Neuartige Lösungen für die vernetzte Welt von morgen co-kreativ und interdisziplinär zu entwickeln.

Moderne Softwareentwicklung mit dem wolkenkit

Die Entwicklung von Software soll immer ein real existierendes Problem lösen. Eine fachliche Domäne, die Gegenstand der zu lösenden Herausforderung ist, muss hierfür möglichst stimmig in Code abgebildet werden. Nur wenn die Domäne mit ihrer zu Grunde liegenden Logik in allen Facetten korrekt wiedergegeben wird, kann eine Software leisten, was von ihr erwartet wird.

Software-Entwicklung findet dabei jedoch noch immer zu häufig entlang disziplinärer Grenzen statt. Soll ein fachliches Problem aber umfassend gelöst werden, braucht man ein interdisziplinär aufgestelltes Team. Nur auf diese Weise – gemeinsam – ist nachhaltiger Erfolg möglich.

Gemeinsames Verständnis als Schlüssel zum nachhaltigen Erfolg

Wenn alle am Entwicklungsprozess beteiligten Rollen ein gemeinsames Verständnis der zu implementierenden Domäne entwickeln, kann die Fachlichkeit treffend modelliert werden. Visionäre, Unternehmensgründer, CIOs, Technologen, Designer, Product Owner – kurzum alle, die jeden Tag aufs Neue damit betraut sind, fachliche Herausforderungen technisch zu lösen – sind hier gleichermaßen involviert.

Sobald ein gemeinsames Verständnis und eine gemeinsame Sprache entwickelt wurde, gilt es, die fachliche Modellierung in entsprechenden Code zu überführen. Problematisch ist dabei in der Regel, dass zu viel Zeit mit dem Lösen von technologischen Problemen verschwendet wird, statt das zu implementieren, was wichtig wäre: Die Fachlichkeit.

Hallo, wolkenkit

An dieser Stelle setzt das wolkenkit an. Das wolkenkit ist ein Open-Source-Framework, das es Entwicklern ermöglicht, ihren Fokus auf das Wesentliche zu richten: Das Lösen von fachlichen Problemen aus der realen Welt.

Auf dem Weg bleibt das zeitintensive Aufsetzen von Anwendungsumgebungen erspart, so dass die Probleme und Anforderungen der echten Welt einfacher, schneller und kostengünstiger in Lösungen gegossen werden können. Mit anderen Worten: Das wolkenkit ermöglicht es, Software passgenauer und flexibler an den fachlichen Bedürfnissen und Wünschen der Anwender auszurichten.

DDD, Event-Sourcing und CQRS als technologische Basis

Technologisch basiert das wolkenkit auf den drei Konzepten DDD (Domain-Driven Design), Event-Sourcing und CQRS (Command-Query-Responsibility-Segregation). Das ermöglicht das Sammeln aller geschäftsrelevanten Ereignisse im Verlauf der Zeit, die sich historisch auch wieder auswerten lassen. Außerdem wird auf dem Weg eine gute Skalierbarkeit erreicht, was für digitale Produkte und Dienste in der Cloud besonders wichtig ist.

Intern generiert das wolkenkit dazu zu der modellierten Fachlichkeit eine HTTP/2- und eine Websocket-API, und kümmert sich außerdem um Aspekte wie Authentifizierung, Autorisierung und Persistenz. Außerdem unterstützt das Framework den Versand von Benachrichtigungen über Ereignisse in Echtzeit.

Strategische Partnerschaft

Entwickelt wird wolkenkit von the native web, einem auf native Webtechnologien spezialisierten Unternehmen. Gegründet wurde the native web im November 2012 von Susanna und Golo Roden, seit dem Frühjahr 2013 ist Intuity als Partner beteiligt. In dieser strategischen Partnerschaft wurde die Idee des wolkenkit weiterentwickelt und in enger Zusammenarbeit vorangetrieben. Matthias Wagler ist dabei in der Lead Core Entwicklung für beide Unternehmen tätig.

the native web und Intuity teilen die Begeisterung für Webtechnologien und die tiefe Überzeugung, dass JavaSript die Plattform der Zukunft für digitale Produkte und Dienstleistungen ist. Aus eigener Erfahrung wird das Potential co-kreativer und interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit hoch geschätzt, da nur auf diese Weise vitale strategische Partnerschaften möglich werden, die letztlich immer zu besseren Lösungen und Produkten führen.

Das wolkenkit, als Produkt einer solchen interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit, ermöglicht es, treffendere digitale Produkte, Dienste und Geschäftssysteme für die vernetzte Welt zu schaffen, da Fachlichkeit und Innovation in den Mittelpunkt gestellt werden.

Editionen: Community und Enterprise

Im Juni 2017 wurde das wolkenkit in Version 1.0 veröffentlicht. the native web bietet wolkenkit in zwei Varianten an: Die Community-Edition steht unter einer Open-Source-Lizenz zum kostenlosen Download zur Verfügung. Die kostenpflichtige Enterprise-Ausgabe bietet zusätzliche Funktionen und erlaubt den Einsatz im kommerziellen Umfeld. Nähere Informationen finden sich auf der Website und in der Dokumentation.

Um das wolkenkit wächst eine Community, die sich primär über Slack und StackOverflow austauscht. Unter Berücksichtigung des Feedbacks der Community wird das wolkenkit stetig weiterentwickelt.

Verwandte Themen

Eine Einführung in das wolkenkit und die relevanten Konzepte bietet the native web in einem 68-seitigen kostenlosen Ebook an. Ergänzend stehen Videos zum Einstieg in die Entwicklung mit wolkenkit in der unternehmenseigenen Videoplattform tech:lounge zur Verfügung.

Case Studies